PDA

View Full Version : Making a Dragon Age mod

Calneon
7th June 2010, 03:37 PM
I know I made the 'Let's make a game' thread a while ago, I think this would be a good project for us because the Dragon Age toolset isn't too hard, and everyone can contribute rather easily. I think most people here have Dragon Age, if you don't, buy it because it's awesome, and then you can help us make the mod :).

I started learning the toolset a few days ago by following these tutorials by SilentCid (http://www.silentcid.com/main/index.php). They give you a brief introduction into how to make a quest, and add it to the official campaign. Today I've been working on an actual level for the mod, made in the level editor, which is the temple entrance on the side of a mountain. The Wiki (http://social.bioware.com/wiki/datoolset/index.php/Main_Page) isn't laid out very well and is hard to follow, but there is useful information to be had there.

My plan to start with is a dungeon set in the side of a mountain in the Frostback Mountains. The dungeon will be high level (so a level 15-20 character is recommended), and will feature a quest to slay the various bosses in the temple/dungeon and attain a unique sword/shield/greatsword/whatever. What I need:

- Lore. Somebody here should be able to write up about the background of the temple, who the bosses are (with names), why they are there, what the unique weapons are (weapons from fallen gods etc).
- Voice actors. There will be a quest giver outside the temple warning the player about what is inside, and a brief description of what the temple is. Perhaps he is the guardian of the temple, and he refuses to let you enter so you have to kill him. Other bosses might say things before you kill them. I'm sure some of you would be able to do this.