Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Specs for poss new PC

Gamer IDs

Gamertag: Midge18 Steam ID: Midge18

Specs for poss new PC

just wondered if any1 had any ideas on this new rig im considering
    using scan coz i get free delivery (so knock off a tenner from price shown)
    got this one to around £590, budget is £600 and im gonna use the 8600GTS OC i have already

Gamer IDs

Steam ID: chazlene

Re: Specs for poss new PC

That's quite a good price for that gear, all I'd say is Corsair RAM is usually overpriced, and you should go with OCZ. Also a slightly more powerful PSU might be good, but I'm no expert.
    "If at first you don't succeed, spend a lot of money to have a professional do it for you."

My Battlelog

Definatly worth getting a PSU as you may get a bigger gfx card down the line, also I would say the Q6600 would be a fine choice but it still wont perform well in high graphics games/multi monitor setup with a 8600.

Gamer IDs

yea about the gfx card, a while back my X700 packed up and the warranty claim never went through (grr) so i decided to get an 8600GTS OC bcoz i didnt have enough money for an 8800 so thats probs gna be the main thing that will be changed
    anyone got any suggestions on the PSU? i really wanted modular (tidier lol) but they're quite expensive... the only other corsair one is the 620W but thats an extra £20...

So get a nice Q6600 and a decent PSU for the same price job done

Gamer IDs

sounds good to me, gonna change the CPU and PSU, but gna keep the RAM coz ive seen the same ones going for £120 on overclockers. i could even get squeeze a Q6700 in, would have enough room in the budget and would still work out around £30 less

and lets be honest, anything nowadays will easily beat the system i have atm... haha
    Last edited by Midge; 20th July 2008 at 02:47 AM.

Gamer IDs

XFIRE ID: chalex4 Steam ID: chalex4