Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Connecting to ATK Servers

  1. #1
    Administrator Chalex4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,706
    Gamer IDs

    XFIRE ID: chalex4 Steam ID: chalex4

    Connecting to ATK Servers


    We've all been in the situation where Steam decides to wipe all of our saved server favourites. Not only is this annoying, but many times you will never find the server again.

    This is why ATK has created customised Game Menu files for use with CSS and TF2. They allow all players to connect to their favourite ATK servers quickly and easily.

    1. CSS


    Click here for larger
    Version: 1.0
    Last Updated: 10/04/09


    There are two different versions, with the one shown above being for those of you that use the match server (no password required) as well as the public servers (this is called "Match"). The other version called "Public" lists just our public CSS servers.

    Installation Instructions:
    1. Download the relevant file: CSS Public GameMenu.res | CSS Match GameMenu.res (Right click > Save As).
    2. Place the above in the following directory (based on default Steam installation, adjust for your install path): CProgram Files\Steam\steamapps\account\counter-strike source\cstrike\resource where account is your Steam login name.

    By default you won't be overwriting another GameMenu.res file, but if you have an existing version, simply rename it to GameMenu.res.old to safely back it up.

    ==================================================

    2. TF2


    Click here for larger
    Version: 1.0
    Last Updated: 10/04/09


    There are two different versions, with the one shown above being for those of you that use the match server (no password required) and SourceTV server as well as the public servers (this is called "Match"). The other version called "Public" lists just our public TF2 servers.

    Installation Instructions:
    1. Download the relevant file: TF2 Public GameMenu.res | TF2 Match GameMenu.res (Right click > Save As).
    2. Place the above in the following directory (based on default Steam installation, adjust for your install path): CProgram Files\Steam\steamapps\account\team fortress 2\tf\resource where account is your Steam login name.

    By default you won't be overwriting another GameMenu.res file, but if you have an existing version, simply rename it to GameMenu.res.old to safely back it up.

    ==================================================

    To uninstall simply delete the GameMenu.res file from the particular "resource" folder and your games will revert to the standard menus after being re-launched.

    Enjoy them - if you have any suggestions let me know!
    Quote Originally Posted by ez64
    chalex has so much control we control ourselves

  2. #2
    ATK Member Mr.Big's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Iceland
    Posts
    553
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: directdrivex

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    nice, how did you find this out?
    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
    Being a pirate is not illegal VoX, you just have to be a bit mad to do it. I for one love Mr.Big for who he is.
    Quote Originally Posted by Oricalcos View Post
    And no Mr. Big, I will not buy every single module in T2 form just because I have exuberant amounts of liquid capital
    Quote Originally Posted by Target View Post
    @ Vox its not worth buying Ass Creed 2 its more of the same just "Mr Big" it and then buy BC2

  3. #3

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    LoL if u click on the image it doesn't make it bigger, in fact am sure it makes it smaller

  4. #4
    ATK Member Mr.Big's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Iceland
    Posts
    553
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: directdrivex

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    Quote Originally Posted by 7@rg37 View Post
    LoL if u click on the image it doesn't make it bigger, in fact am sure it makes it smaller
    the link below the images is for making them bigger
    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
    Being a pirate is not illegal VoX, you just have to be a bit mad to do it. I for one love Mr.Big for who he is.
    Quote Originally Posted by Oricalcos View Post
    And no Mr. Big, I will not buy every single module in T2 form just because I have exuberant amounts of liquid capital
    Quote Originally Posted by Target View Post
    @ Vox its not worth buying Ass Creed 2 its more of the same just "Mr Big" it and then buy BC2

  5. #5
    ATK Member Vicious Horizon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Oxfordshire, Banbury
    Posts
    2,984

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    oh wow Chalex, nice work ^^,
    Take that ya one-eyed, bomb-lobbin', cactus eatin', pot bellied, thug fat jigglin-chicken whoopin' big, back-stabbin lob-armed creepy spastic bloody, blind-eyed pashy little twitchy pickle-headed rocke- hoppin, potato-poppin' phony two-faced stealthy mutant bastard!


  6. #6
    Yellow and mellow Calneon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    3,488
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: 76561197977918917

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    I guess this could save a few clicks, but it does seem rather pointless to me. We have the IPs of all servers on the website and its not hard to add them to favourites. Anyway, i didn't even know you could do this so well done for finding out.

    i7 920@3.8 | GTX280 | HAF 932 | 6GB | Corsair 520W
    Hazro 24" | Logitech Illuminated | G500 | Creative 2.0 | Nikon D3100


  7. #7
    ATK Member Vicious Horizon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Oxfordshire, Banbury
    Posts
    2,984

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    If we get it added to some mods which we use on the server, through sponsorships etc. Then when they install the mod, they get that thing, and so they'll use our servers :P

    Think it's feasable? (sp?)
    Take that ya one-eyed, bomb-lobbin', cactus eatin', pot bellied, thug fat jigglin-chicken whoopin' big, back-stabbin lob-armed creepy spastic bloody, blind-eyed pashy little twitchy pickle-headed rocke- hoppin, potato-poppin' phony two-faced stealthy mutant bastard!


  8. #8
    Administrator Chalex4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,706
    Gamer IDs

    XFIRE ID: chalex4 Steam ID: chalex4

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    I found out about this from some of the sites I regular on, and thought ATK could do with a menu too.

    Phantom, you may not like the idea now, but I've been running the new menus for the last few days and they make it so much easier to join our servers, especially because I have too many favourites. Anyway, it's a good system to have now just in case we add more servers in the future.

    In terms of auto-downloading the new menu to players on the server, I would say that it's probably possible. I don't know how to do it with Sourcemod without looking around, but I'm sure Phantom would have some ideas if we decided to do that. Personally though, I think most people would get annoyed with some "random" server appearing there!

    How many of you are running the new ATK menu ?
    Quote Originally Posted by ez64
    chalex has so much control we control ourselves

  9. #9

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    Yh, Cheers for that, works really well, maybe get it as a download when people join our server? lol



    17:42 - Colonel Mitch |ATK|: DE IS NOT A NOOB

  10. #10
    Yellow and mellow Calneon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    3,488
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: 76561197977918917

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    Quote Originally Posted by Chalex4 View Post
    In terms of auto-downloading the new menu to players on the server, I would say that it's probably possible. I don't know how to do it with Sourcemod without looking around, but I'm sure Phantom would have some ideas if we decided to do that. Personally though, I think most people would get annoyed with some "random" server appearing there!
    No way, i'd hate to join a server and the quit to notice i now have two new options on my menu and have no idea how to remove them. Possibly an ingame command that you type but i can't see anyone doing it.

    Also, I never said I didn't like the idea, i just said it seemed rather pointless, for me at least, but I only have a few favourites for each mod.

    i7 920@3.8 | GTX280 | HAF 932 | 6GB | Corsair 520W
    Hazro 24" | Logitech Illuminated | G500 | Creative 2.0 | Nikon D3100


  11. #11

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    I'm with phant here. Wolfenstein servers sometimes had a download which altered your main screen, and it made me spit teeth every time I had to go into the files and delete these randoms addons after going into a random.

  12. #12
    Administrator Chalex4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,706
    Gamer IDs

    XFIRE ID: chalex4 Steam ID: chalex4

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    I did say I was against the idea, but there's no stopping Darkeagle when he wants people to join our TF2 server lol .

    Speaking of Darkeagle, has anyone else actually installed it yet?
    Quote Originally Posted by ez64
    chalex has so much control we control ourselves

  13. #13

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    well i cba duin this chalex u can set it up on all r pc's at i37 then we will look epic :P

  14. #14
    Yellow and mellow Calneon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    3,488
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: 76561197977918917

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    Quote Originally Posted by 7@rg37 View Post
    well i cba duin this chalex u can set it up on all r pc's at i37 then we will look epic :P
    When we all leave our PCs we'll all have to leave them on the TF2 menu screen for all to see

    i7 920@3.8 | GTX280 | HAF 932 | 6GB | Corsair 520W
    Hazro 24" | Logitech Illuminated | G500 | Creative 2.0 | Nikon D3100


  15. #15
    Deagle > Five-Seven VoX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South East London, England
    Posts
    3,441

    Re: Connecting to ATK Servers

    Looks good, I'll grab the TF2 ones and give them a go.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CSS Servers
    By Calneon in forum Server Talk
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 4th January 2009, 01:53 PM
  2. i34 Servers
    By Chalex4 in forum Announcements
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 3rd October 2008, 04:00 PM
  3. servers i.ps
    By dark deagle in forum Server Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd March 2007, 06:11 PM
  4. CSS game servers
    By Chazlene in forum Server Talk
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th February 2007, 07:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Affiliates: LochTechMonster, Temple Millar, SamBigos, Addenda Provided, Prime Gaming, Petrol Smell, Game Sprays, Afterlife Gaming, L4D MapDB, Brawl Forum

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. Copyright Aim to Kill (ATK) 2014