Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: ArmA2 Official Demo

  1. #16
    Yellow and mellow Calneon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    3,488
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: 76561197977918917

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    It's a cool feature, it blurs your view when you move your head quickly like in RL. However, it can get annoying and it chews up performance so I turned it off.

    i7 920@3.8 | GTX280 | HAF 932 | 6GB | Corsair 520W
    Hazro 24" | Logitech Illuminated | G500 | Creative 2.0 | Nikon D3100


  2. #17

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    any FPS is a milisecond thing... It's noticable, trust me...

  3. #18
    Deagle > Five-Seven VoX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South East London, England
    Posts
    3,441

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    Ok, this is seriously complicated and really stressful, the controls are just wtf complicated and you need to spend ages learning them.

    Also, it's obvious the demo is an older version, it's got obvious bugs left in it.

    I'll play over the week-end and make a decision then, probs won't get ArmA2 until I've mastered the training, should have gone down in price by then too.

    I may just spend the 30 on a nice sound-card...

  4. #19
    Yellow and mellow Calneon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    3,488
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: 76561197977918917

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    The demo probably is from an earlier version, but don't think that all the bugs in retail have been fixed :P. There are still a few in training and I haven't done much of the campaign so far.

    The controls are complicated yes, but you do get used to them, pretty much everything is in the context sensitive menu. I haven't tried commanding the squad yet though .

    i7 920@3.8 | GTX280 | HAF 932 | 6GB | Corsair 520W
    Hazro 24" | Logitech Illuminated | G500 | Creative 2.0 | Nikon D3100


  5. #20
    Deagle > Five-Seven VoX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South East London, England
    Posts
    3,441

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    I got pissed of when trying to fly a heli, found it annoying that when hovering the controls were diff to moving (ish.)

    Took off head bobble as it was giving me a headache so will play some INF later and see what I think. Am going to get the soundcard though and get ArmA2 when its cheaper.


    EDIT: Played some scenarios and it's aright, will have more of a go another time.

    Oh, and if you're expecting to play this game at 1920x1200, you'll need good Gcard(s) as in the benchmark (this is more or less everything other than view distance maxed) I get 25 FPS, clocking my 280 to 285 speeds gets me 26 FPS lol. I'm also surprised that my CPU doesn't run at 100% load during this, as normally at-least Core 0 is fully loaded. I'll try OCing my CPU a bit more and seeing if I can get any gains, I have a feeling that my CPU may be bottlenecking my GPU (even at 3.2Ghz lol.)
    Last edited by VoX; 26th June 2009 at 10:15 PM.

  6. #21

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    I'll downlaod the game when you guys have decided whether its controlable or jsut fucking annoying :P

  7. #22
    ATK Leadership Colonel Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North west - Barrow-in-furness
    Posts
    2,310
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: Pierd1989

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    Quote Originally Posted by VoX View Post
    I got pissed of when trying to fly a heli, found it annoying that when hovering the controls were diff to moving (ish.)

    Took off head bobble as it was giving me a headache so will play some INF later and see what I think. Am going to get the soundcard though and get ArmA2 when its cheaper.


    EDIT: Played some scenarios and it's aright, will have more of a go another time.

    Oh, and if you're expecting to play this game at 1920x1200, you'll need good Gcard(s) as in the benchmark (this is more or less everything other than view distance maxed) I get 25 FPS, clocking my 280 to 285 speeds gets me 26 FPS lol. I'm also surprised that my CPU doesn't run at 100% load during this, as normally at-least Core 0 is fully loaded. I'll try OCing my CPU a bit more and seeing if I can get any gains, I have a feeling that my CPU may be bottlenecking my GPU (even at 3.2Ghz lol.)

    1. SOUNDCARDS ARE A WASTE OF MONEY
    2. This is why we choose ATi over Nvidia
    3. 3.2GHz is nothing

  8. #23
    Deagle > Five-Seven VoX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South East London, England
    Posts
    3,441

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    3.4Ghz was unstable, BSOD as soon as I ran Intel Burn Test. Needs moar voltage, but 3.2 is good for now, until I grab 2 1900RPM Scythe Kazi's for a Push-pull and I'll be able to take higher temp/voltage/speed, although I probably could go further with what I've got.

    And soundcards are good if you want to enable "Ultra" sound settings and games/do a bit of audio editing, you don't have to buy everything on the cheap mitch.

  9. #24
    Yellow and mellow Calneon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    3,488
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: 76561197977918917

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    I changed the Heli controls a lot, to be almost the same as BF2 heli controls. Much easier now.

    VoX, make sure you force Vsync off in Nvidia control panel. Also, open the ArmA2.cfg file in your documents and make sure 'localVRAM=1073741824' (1GB for GTX280), and set the setting ingame to default. Make sure you also set the file to read only so it doesnt change it back.

    I get about 30-50 FPS with most things on normal and textures on very high. I also set SceneComplexity to 1000000 in ur profile file, which improves image quality quite a lot. Post processing is on low because I think it looks best .

    Target, the controls are fine once you learn how the menus work, go ahead and download it.

    i7 920@3.8 | GTX280 | HAF 932 | 6GB | Corsair 520W
    Hazro 24" | Logitech Illuminated | G500 | Creative 2.0 | Nikon D3100


  10. #25
    Deagle > Five-Seven VoX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South East London, England
    Posts
    3,441

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo

    I'll do that when I get the chance then lol, should hopefully make a diff.

    And agree on the post-processing, it is slightly overdone on high.

  11. #26
    Yellow and mellow Calneon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    3,488
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: 76561197977918917

    Re: ArmA2 Official Demo


    i7 920@3.8 | GTX280 | HAF 932 | 6GB | Corsair 520W
    Hazro 24" | Logitech Illuminated | G500 | Creative 2.0 | Nikon D3100


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The Official ATK EVE Corporation - Zurmithera
    By Isphera in forum Role-Playing (RPG/MMORPG)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th August 2010, 11:52 PM
  2. [OLD] Counter-Strike: Source Aeternus Roster
    By Vicious Horizon in forum CSS Team
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd March 2009, 05:00 PM
  3. BF2 Demo
    By Vicious Horizon in forum Help Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11th July 2008, 08:00 PM
  4. Official ATK Gaming Teams
    By Chalex4 in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 21st April 2008, 09:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Affiliates: LochTechMonster, Temple Millar, SamBigos, Addenda Provided, Prime Gaming, Petrol Smell, Game Sprays, Afterlife Gaming, L4D MapDB, Brawl Forum

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:22 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. Copyright Aim to Kill (ATK) 2014